Best Wireless Security Camera

Wireless Cameras Reviews and Recommendations

Review of Foscam FI9831P Plug and Play 960P HD H.264 Wireless/Wired Pan/Tilt IP Camera, 26-Feet Night Vision and 70 Degree Viewing Angle (White)

Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of August 9, 2017 8:28 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Options

Foscam FI9831P V2 960p Indoor Pan/Tilt Wi-fi IP CameraGeneral Options:1.three MegaPixel excessive definition P2P function for straightforward distant entry Show decision: 1280 x 960 Video recording on movement detection WPS-enabled wi-fi connection Night time surveillance as much as 26-feet Embedded IR-cut improves picture readability Large viewing angle 80 levels Pan and tilt – 300° horizontal, 120° vertical Appropriate with iOS (iPhone/iPad) and Android Helps Wi-fi b/g/n Micro SD card slot (as much as 32GB) H.264 video compressionSpecifications:Sensor sort: 1/three"CMOS Show decision: 1.three MegaPixels (1280 x 960) Body fee: 30fps IR Lower filter Minimal illumination: zero Lux(With IR illuminator) Lens sort: f:2.8mm,F:2.four Night time imaginative and prescient: 26-feet Ethernet and WPS help Wi-fi: IEEE 802.11b/g/n Wi-fi safety: WEP,WPA,WPA2 P2P function Video format: H.264,MJPEG Multi stream: Twin streams Movement detection Scheduled recording Constructed-in DDNS Server Browser supported: IE8, Firefox, Chrome, Safari Os supported: Home windows, MAC, Anroid, iOSPower Adapter Specs:Enter: 100-240V ~ 50/60Hz, zero.5A Output: 5V—200mAUnit Dimensions:5.zero x four.5 x four.5-inches (H x W x D)

Package deal Consists of

Foscam FI9831P V2 960p Indoor Pan/Tilt Wi-fi IP Digital camera Software program CD AC energy adapter Ethernet cable Antenna

Extra Info

Notes:Mannequin: FI9831P V2 UPC: eight 54509 00525 3Product Necessities:Out there energy outlet Appropriate wi-fi community Smartphone or pill PC browser viewing: Microsoft Home windows 2000/XP, Vista, Windows7, Home windows eight, Mac OS

Customer Reviews

Caught a break in on camera

 on May 29, 2016
By James Hirst
Had this camera setup in my living room. Had a juvenile break into my house and the camera took a perfectly clear HD photo of the perpetrator. I gave the photo to the police and the next day the perp was picked up and all my property was recovered. Definitely paid for itself already.

The camera software is rough at best. Connections are a challenge

 on March 29, 2015
By Michael P Garrett
I’m given the Foscam FI9831P 4 stars for two reasons. The camera is inexpensive and the technical support is outstanding. Sometimes wait times can be long but they are able and willing to handle any issues that you may have. Sam was courteous and knowledgeable. All my issues were resolved. The reason this camera doesn’t receive 5 stars is because of the poorly written software for these camera’s which requires a robust customer service program. The camera software is rough at best. Connections are a challenge. Making settings changes are not straight forward. If Foscam didn’t support these camera’s as well as they do these camera’s would be useless bricks for most computer home users. The manual helps but some issues can be a little convoluted. The manual is inadequate. I recommend Foscam invest in a major robust software revision. They might save money with less calls needed into their technical support line this way.

I like these. Based on the first 2

 on May 10, 2015
By Chuck
I ordered 2 of these to add to a previous order of 2. So, obviously, I like them. Based on the first 2, I found them to be very reliable little cameras at a very reasonable price.

Great if you don’t use in low light.

 on December 6, 2015
By TechEagle_AC
I have several of these cameras and I do like them. As a matter of fact, I would rate them 5 stars if it wasn’t for the noise that is generated in low light. If you set the IR LEDs to manual and turn them off then the sensor goes crazy with noise – even in moderate lighting. See the attachd screen shot which shows the noise. Note that it was taken in a drive way where 3 flood lights are on.

You can go back and forth with Foscam support but they are generally very unhelpful and you’ll likely end up with something usel

 on December 31, 2016
By Alistair B.
DO NOT BUY A USED ONE. Worth pointing that out because the Camera needs to registered with a Foscam account and you cannot use it if it has been previously registered but not un-registered. You can go back and forth with Foscam support but they are generally very unhelpful and you’ll likely end up with something useless.

… plug and play did not work for me but fortunately I am familiar with port forwarding in my router …

 on August 6, 2014
By DMC
The plug and play did not work for me but fortunately I am familiar with port forwarding in my router and setting up a static domain name for my dynamic IP address. I probably spent an hour setting up the camera but most of that was trying to get the plug and play to work. Once I gave up and setup port forwarding I was good to go. The camera works great and the video quality is what I expected.

Challenging to set up, but happy now that working

 on August 30, 2015
By Clump
Camera quality good. Sound quality is horrible and basically non-functional, but I don’t see that being critical element of how I will be using it. Setting the camera up and getting reliable access to it and a C1 model I also bought has been a bit of a challenge. I’m working through the various apps and ways I can access the cameras from an android tablet, Surface Pro 2, Windows phone, wife’s iPhone & iPad and my desktop. I also had challenges getting the email alerts to work, but finally stumbled onto a solution on a Foscam forum and both cameras are providing email alerts as expected.
thank you for sharing...

Review Of Foscam FI9831P IP Camera