Best Wireless Security Camera

Wireless Cameras Reviews and Recommendations

Review of Foscam FI9826PW Plug and Play 1.3 Megapixel, 1280 x 960 Pixels, 3x Optical Zoom, H.264 Pan/Tilt Wireless IP Camera (White)

Rating: 
Amazon Price: N/A (as of November 17, 2018 8:07 am – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The Foscam FI9826P is one of Foscam's plug and play, 1.3 megapixel indoor cameras with 3x optical zoom, allowing you to physically zoom in on objects with amazing clarity and without losing picture quality. The plug and play feature allows the ability to connect via smartphone by simply scanning the QR code on the underside of the camera. Bypassing the need to access your router and setup port forwarding, the FI9826P can be set up effortlessly by anyone, even those with very little IT experience. The FI9826P features 1280 x 960p video resolution, h.264 video compression, 3x optical zoom, built-in DVR via SD card (up to 32gb), two-way audio, Wi-Fi-N capability, pan/tilt/zoom, remote internet viewing, motion detection, night-vision as well as network video recording capability. It is smartphone compatible (iPhone & Android App) as well as view able over the internet using standard browsers on PC (Firefox, IE & Chrome) or Mac (Safari only).The camera functions well as a smartphone baby, pet or elderly parent monitor or as part of a complete home/office security system with remote internet monitoring ability. The FI9826P adopts a high performance media and video processor capable of H.264 video compression which allows for ultra-smooth high definition video. In addition, due to the small file sizes produced by H.264 video compression it has the ability to save tremendous disk space when doing video recording.

Customer Reviews

Buyer Beware – There are 2 different versions of this camera with the same model #!

 on April 27, 2016
By Fly-Boy
I went through several different cameras before finally deciding that this one had all the features and “easy” functionality that I required. So I decided to buy 2 more of the eventual 6 I planned to install. Sadly, I did not have time to install the second two cameras until well after the return policy had expired. I say sadly as the second two cameras I received are a different version of the same camera! The differences are serious enough that they should have different model #’s in my book, thus my Buyer Beware review title!

Fantastic Quality, Fantastic Features! GREAT choice! And NO monthly fee.

 on March 7, 2015
By saily
Ok so I was hesistant to purchase this camera at first due to the popularity of other IP Cameras like DropCam and the Samsung HD, and due to the slightly larger size, but this camera is FANTASTIC! This review will share our thoughts abut the Foscam F19826P (the P2P for $199). It took a few minutes to set it up the way we want it, but the features were great and there are many options available to customize for however you want to use it. Out of the box, you can literally just plug the camera in, connect via ethernet or wifi, scan the QR Code on the bottom of the camera, and login. Immediately, the app connected to the camera and the 960P video quality was amazing. FAR FAR FAR superior to both the DropCam Pro and the Samsung HD (yes, we actually ordered those first and sent them back cause they were medicore/crappy at best). Even the 720P video quality is heads-and-shoulders better than either of the other two competitors. The user can select their frame rate, their resolution (960P, 720P, VGA 640×480, VGA 640×360, QVGA 320×240, and QVGA 320×180), their preferred bit rate, stream type (HD Mode, Equilibrium, Smooth-Mode, or User Defined. The camera also offers a concurrent sub-stream that also has options that can be selected.

Amazing Camera – using for special needs child in bedroom

 on October 8, 2015
By Amazon Customer
I just received the camera today. I was very skeptical about the easy setup; however, it was easy. I ordered it knowing I had a 15 yr old who was tech savvy if I needed him. We have V Tech baby camera and they do not pan tilt or zoom and we had to purchase 3 cameras and one monitor to see the whole room. There is only a small part of the room you cannot see and you can even zoom clearly in the bathroom adjacent to the bedroom. I am amazed and so happy. We have a special needs child and this will work great. When I am able, I am going to order more of the cameras to put around the house for when we are gone. She is moving in the picture but it’s very clear otherwise. I am not sure how it will upload but thought I would try it. Also you can hear what’s going on in the room and talk to the person in the room.

Camera works great and easy access with Blue Iris software

 on December 30, 2014
By Bob Matthews
Just received the camera this week and set it up yesterday. I am using Blue Iris software to access my security cameras and used the IP Camera search tool on the provided CD to identify the IP address and port. Everything is working as expected for a camera in this price range…good but not perfect. Had one minor issue as I could not get the secure https port to detect in Blue Iris…however…did not spend much time troubleshooting as all my other cameras in Blue Iris use http ports.

The Foscam FI9826PB gives a great picture I would recommend it with one reservation

 on August 10, 2016
By Joyce E
For the money the Foscam FI9826PB gives a great picture and is one of the few cameras in this price range with a 3X OPTICAL zoom. I would recommend it with one reservation.

Great hardware, but terrible software. Luckily there is good 3rd party support.

 on November 29, 2015
By Akshun J
If you want to ditch Nest’s Dropcam because of its inability to do local streaming (ie allow you to connect and view video on your home network WITHOUT needing to pull that video from a remote server), there is a better solution. The Foscam FI9826P.

The camera’s video is absolutely the best I have purchase thus far and I do give …

 on July 21, 2016
By Amazon Customer
I would have given this camera 5 stars but because of the large size and complex setup process it only gets 4. It is a large durable camera. I am an electronics and communications engineer, I have setup and maintain a number of wireless ip cameras which only takes a couple of minutes to do normally. I spent almost a day trying to get the camera to work. I normally use Chrome with my ip cameras but because of the security and plugin issues Chrome and IE would not set up with the camera. I down loaded FireFox and it worked. Also setting the camera up with the client software that comes with it was a chore also. The camera’s video is absolutely the best I have purchase thus far and I do give the video 5 stars. The optical zoom works well. The camera also works with Blue Iris. The camera LEDS can be turned off and the camera works really well in low light and night monitoring outside through a window. I would purchase again but the price needs to be lower.!

this is a sweet baby monitoring camera

 on January 20, 2017
By Anthony Scotty1234
Ok, this is a sweet baby monitoring camera! I love the zoom on it (it is an optical zoom, not digital). The mic works fairly well as well. I use this to check on my 5 month old daughter. The picture is so clear (even night vision) and the sound on the foscam ios app is pretty good. – Only one beef, when this thing starts up, it actually says “welcome foscam” and there is no way to turn this off. I also notice a slight hiss from the speaker that is constant. To resolve this, I just plugged in a headphone jack into the audio out. Now I can’t talk to my daughter (which I wouldn’t do anyway because it seems creepy), but there is no hissing and no “Welcome foscam announcement”. Besides that rediculous issue, this is an amazing camera!
thank you for sharing...

Review Of Foscam FI9826PW Plug And Play 1.3 Megapixel, 1280 X 960 Pixels, 3x Optical Zoom, H.264 Pan/Tilt Wireless IP Camera (White)