Best Wireless Security Camera

Wireless Cameras Reviews and Recommendations

Review of Amcrest IP2M-842W ProHD Outdoor 1080P Wi-Fi Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera, IP66 Weatherproof, White

  • Review Of Amcrest IP2M 842W Pro Outdoor Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera
    How To Setup Amcrest 1080P WiFi Outdoor Bullet Camera IP2M-842
  • Review Of Amcrest IP2M 842W Pro Outdoor Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera
    Amcrest ProHD Outdoor 1080P WiFi Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera Review
  • Review Of Amcrest IP2M 842W Pro Outdoor Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera
    Amcrest ProHD Outdoor 1080P WiFi IP Camera IP2M-842 Unboxing
  • Review Of Amcrest IP2M 842W Pro Outdoor Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera
    Amcrest ProHD Outdoor 4 Megapixel POE Bullet IP Security Camera Review, Excellent IP Camera
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $119.99 (as of November 13, 2018 9:16 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Amcrest IP2M-842W ProHD Outside 1080P Wi-Fi Wi-fi IP Safety Bullet Digital camera, IP66 Weatherproof, White

Customer Reviews

Good and bad–read before you buy

 on February 8, 2016
By J
Revised my review–now much more comprehensive:

Other than that it’s fine.

 on September 13, 2016
By Shane
This is my first camera, but for 1080p it’s very grainy and the picture pulses for some reason. Other than that it’s fine.

Video is blurry.

 on June 10, 2017
By N. Howe
Overall an okay product, takes a bit to set up, but the video is blurry and I don’t think it is 1080P

Good quality outdoor camera with the ability to broadcast over …

 on January 5, 2017
By Jack
Good quality outdoor camera with the ability to broadcast over wifi. Looks very nice mounted under the soffit board of our house. You will still need to have a power cable running to the camera, so it’s not completely wireless, but I knew this when I purchased the camera. The camera is mounted outside of the garage so I ran the power cord through a hole I drilled in the soffit. The motion detection and IR night vision functions well. Picture quality is good but still difficult to make out license plate numbers from a distance. The software for viewing video recordings that it comes with is pretty bad but you have the option of using a third party video capture software on a home computer instead (the computer would have to be on 24/7 though). I have it setup to record motion events to a home network attached storage device which it connects to using ftp (most other cameras that I researched do not have this capability). The camera saves video files in a strange format (.dav) which you can really only view with their software but you can always covert it to a more common format if you had to send it to the police. Their cloud interface is user-friendly and easy to setup for viewing when away from home. They give you 4-hours of free saved motion events and offer reasonable pricing for increasing the amount of storage. The online cloud option for saving video would probably be the best option for more of a computer novice. Below I have included photos of the camera mounted and the position of the power cord. I would buy another one of these cameras if considering adding more security coverage to my home.

Good camera but limited angle of view

 on August 16, 2016
By Mark
I bought the Amcrest ProHD and the Foscam FI1099P so I could compare them side-by-side for a few days. I set both cameras up in the same location in order to try to get a meaningful comparison. While I liked the Amcrest, there were a couple things that I couldn’t live with and I’ll be returning it. The picture quality was very good. It was slightly less detailed than the Foscam but the colors and contrast were much more natural. The Foscam’s colors are slightly washed out in comparison. I also liked Amcrest’s iOS app and the browser-based user interface used to access and configure the camera. You do have to install a plugin every time you access the camera (which is ridiculous given that it’s 2016). Chrome isn’t supported, so I had to use IE to configure the camera.

It set up quickly and the picture is very clear and I can easily bring it up on either my PC or Android …

 on February 4, 2016
By Mark Malibu
The unit is very compact. It set up quickly and the picture is very clear and I can easily bring it up on either my PC or Android Phone using the app I downloaded from Play Store. I wish the camera had the ability to add a SD memory card like the indoor version of the camera. I believe Amcrest offers 4 hours of free cloud storage. I received a discount off the introductory price for a fair review. All in all, I’d say it is a well built camera that for me was easy to install and view the picture.

Nice clear pictures/video works well.

 on July 20, 2016
By JW of KC
Nice clear pictures/video nightvision works well it has an internal memory that stores video and images but also has free DVR software you can install on a PC. Neither the onboard or the PC DVR software are the most intuitive or user friendly but I was able to figure it out. I installed this in a remote location and powered with batteries and a solar panel and it worked as expected (actually better than expected).

Very solid unit!

 on October 18, 2016
By Tony F.
I am a security guys by trade so I install cameras for a living. Talk about easy. It doesn’t get any easier honestly, as long as you can power them and your wifi range is decent these things will rock your world. I had wifi issues from the beginning so I bought an extender and performed a static on my ip address. Boom, it works like a freaking charm. No clumsy DVR or running cables in my ancient attic from the 40s. Was the easiest camera install I have done start to finish. The picture is beautiful, the features are awesome and the price is right. If you want to save a few books and don’t need the best picture quality go for the 720P versions. I love these cameras. I can now feel safe when away from home, and I can count on them to work. I am now a huge fan of Amcrest and will gladly give them more of my money and reviews.

Nice camera. Good telephone support.

 on May 15, 2016
By Spark
A very nice addition to my home security cameras. It produces a better picture–sharper–than any of my other cameras. I won’t say it’s easy to set up, but help is available on the phone, and is much better than trying to get help via e-mail. That doesn’t work out very well.
thank you for sharing...

Review Of Amcrest IP2M 842W Pro Outdoor Wireless IP Security Bullet Camera